To strengthen partnerships between Youth Council and local governments, Councillors from all eight lower-tier municipalities are invited to serve on the Board of Directors.  One seat is reserved for each municipality, to be filled at the direction of local Council. Also, both the Durham District School Board and the Durham Catholic District School Board are entitled to appoint one representative. In addition, the Youth Chair and one Youth Councillor also serve on the Board.  

The Board currently has nine members, as follows:

City of PickeringKevin Ashe​, Deputy Mayor and Regional Councillor, Ward One

Town of WhitbySteve Yamada​, Councillor, Ward Four

Municipality of ClaringtonSteven Cooke​, Councillor, Ward One

Township of ScugogJanna Guido (Councillor, Ward Two) and Wilma Wotten (Councillor, Ward Four)

Township of UxbridgePamela Beach (Councillor, Ward One) and Pat Molloy​ (Deputy Mayor and Councillor, Ward Two)

Township of BrockMike Parliament​ (Councillor, Ward Three)

Durham District School Board: TBD

Durham Catholic District School Board: ​TBD

Youth ChairTenzin Shomar

Youth Council Appointee: TBD

The Board of Directors meets once every three months, to review Youth Council operations and discuss issues relevant to young people.  The Board plays a crucial role in community outreach, and has oversight over all financial matters.

Board of Directors